Sometimes I think of my life before, how far along I have come,
It feels like miles away sometimes, the pain in what I have done,
I don’t wish for my life before, it hurts to think of a life without God,
But it taunts me every now and then, “come here, come back, come on,”
My dreams are such realities that I fight to live my truth,
That Islam is the only way to be, my livelihood, being, and youth,
But there are days I wish I wasn’t so different from everyone,
The stares, the glares, bumps and hits, I feel like I’m all alone,
But when I find myself so wary that I want to stop walking,
I remind myself that God loves me, don’t worry, keep jogging,
About the things I’m grateful for, how Islam has changed my life,
That nowhere else will you find a chance to be more than just a sprite,
That to live is to suffer, but to be kind is to live,
To forgive is angelic, and death is not the end,
For we will meet Him someday, and see Him in all His glory,
Weep tears, sing praises, and hope He accepts our sorries,
But until that day, oh how I long for it, I will keep this in mind,
That each day I live for the sake of Allah, is the meaning I must remind.